January 12th, 2014

Every year, over 1 billion people around the world watch the Eurovision Song Contest on television.

2014 sees the singing spectacular being staged in Copenhagen and the competition will be in its 59th year.

Recent past of the singing competition

The last few years have seen big changes with the growing number of countries entering, the creation of semi-final heats and the ever-growing discussion about political voting.

The winning countries of the last 5 years have been Norway, Germany, Azerbaijan, Sweden and most recently, Denmark.

Predictions for 2014

It’s early days yet to predict who will win the 2014 contest, with countries starting to invite writers to enter songs to represent their country.

Each year, some countries drop out and others re-join. Portugal is now back in the throng of things with an entry and Greece is strongly predicted to also make a come back.

Geographically speaking, the winning streak seems to have moved back to those from the western side of Europe after a number of eastern European triumphs. With this in mind, the prediction would be for the competition to stay in this area of the EBU in 2015.

Malta has recently won the Junior Eurovision contest with an impressive performance from Gaia Cauchi and her ballad The Start. Whilst she is too young to take part in the main Eurovision competition, Malta is a strong contender to take the 2014 crown. If you agree; place a bet at Betsson! Over the years they have had a number of excellent entries and after being placed eigth in Malmo they are predicted to have more than a good chance of taking top spot in Copenhagen. They will have to be selected from their semi-final heat first, but each year take the competition seriously enough to offer a well written song performed by a skillful singer or group.

The glamour and glitz of the spectacle will be the usual party of colour, song and excitement. The flags will wave, the audience will cheer and the awarding of points will be accompanied by the usual comments of who traditionally votes for who. All this is Eurovision – long may it continue.